Prague In My Sights

Plans are getting underway! I’ve officially deposited money for my course and apartment fee for the first month (ouch!) and now things are official. My Dad finally consented to telling my Grandma about my international plans and she took it really well. She, like my parents, simply demand that I write or call home frequently while I’m away. My family and I will miss each other a great deal when I’m gone, I’m afraid.

On the bright side, I’m finally able to get excited about my trip! I’ve been doing a lot of armchair travel, checking (pun intended) out all the sights I plan to see in Prague. So far, the guidebooks I’ve preferred are Rick Steves’ Prague guide, Rick Steves’ “Europe Through the Back Door”, the Eyewitness Prague guide, and the Eyewitness Top 10 Guide for Prague. I can’t wait to traverse the Charles Bridge, explore all the little cafes of the Old Town, to try a Czech beer hall, and so so many more things!

I do have a ton of planning left to do at this point: international bank account, medical insurance for myself in the Czech Republic, transatlantic flight, cell phone enabling, not to mention learning the basics of the Czech language and the basics of ESL-theory (from books I have yet to order). Eep.

It’s shocking that after years of wanting to travel around Europe, I am finally blessed with the opportunity to do so, and make enough dough to live on, hopefully. I’m so lucky to be in a position in life where I have enough independence and startup to do this – I can’t forget that. I know that this part of my life will be woven with new and unexpected experiences, together with self-discovery and an education made on the cobbled streets of Bohemian Praha.

Wish me good luck in my preparations! πŸ˜€

2 Responses

  1. Christine!! I’m SO happy for you but I will miss you SO much <333 I must see you before you leave for beautiful Prague!! I will definitely be praying for you and missing you terribly, wifey <333

  2. I’m SO happy for you but I will miss you terribly, wifey!! I will be praying for you soul sista!! I’m really excited for you!! I know that you will have an amazing time in beautiful Prague!! I’m so happy that your family is on board with your plans πŸ˜€ Best wishes to you as you make your preparations for the trip and let me know if I could help in any way ❀

Leave a comment